Positive Thoughts

Image

I know I said my next post would be about my honeymoon, but I wanted to write about this instead haha.

As a married woman for over two and a half months now, I feel I have already learned a thing or two. From listening to the hearsay about men my whole life, my own experiences,  and observing the other married military wives around me, I realize that every man drives his woman crazy! And yes, my husband drives me absolutely mad some days. But, that’s not the point of this message. The point is, each morning, my husband and I have a chance to change our marriage for the better…or the worse.

Last night, as Brandon and I read through our daily devotional, I realized, like most experiences in life, marriage will be what you make of it. We can wake up each morning complaining and dwelling on all aspects of our marriage and our husbands that drive us crazy or disappoint us…and we will be driven crazy and disappointed in our marriages and husbands. OR we can listen to Philippians 4:8 (ESV).

“Finally, brothers, whatever is true, whatever is honorable, whatever is just, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is commendable, if there is any excellence, if there is anything worthy of praise, think about these things.”

For, if we focus on all the wonderful things our husbands do for us and how beautiful and blessed our marriages are…our husbands will be wonderful and our marriages will be beautiful and blessed.

Our attitudes affect our actions. If we concentrate on the negative and have a pessimistic, defeatist attitude, our words and actions will reflect that…our marriages will reflect that. Instead of finding a solution, we become part of the problem.

If we fix our thoughts on the positive…

My husband is so wonderful, he bought me a gorgeous bouquet of pink roses.

My husband is so kind, he did the dishes for me last night.

I am so appreciative of my husband waking up and taking the dog out this morning so I could sleep in a bit longer.

My husband made me coffee this morning…how thoughtful.

My husband cuddles with me at night…I know he wants to be next to me.

My husband encouraged me to push myself today during my workout and I am stronger because of it.

My marriage is sweet and sentimental.

My marriage grows better and stronger after each trial.

My marriage is fun.

My marriage is worth it.

I encourage each of you to focus on the positives of your marriage and your husband. Praise him when he is worthy of praise. Acknowledge when he does something you appreciated. Let him know when he has done a job well done. I bet you he will do it more often! If you’d like, comment about the wonderful things your husband (or wife) does for you!

Love,

Elizabeth

P.S. Yes, Brandon did get me that gorgeous bouquet of roses.

One thought on “Positive Thoughts

Leave a Reply

